Dean Koontz

  When he was a senior in college, Dean Koontz won an Atlantic Monthly fiction competition and has been writing ever since. His books are published in 38 languages and he has sold over 450 million copies to date. Fourteen of his novels have risen to number one on the New York Times hardcover bestseller list…

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

Robin McKinley is an American writer who has won many awards in the US, including the Newbery Medal for The Hero and the Crown, a Newbery Honor for The Blue Sword, and the Mythopoeic Award for Adult Literature for Sunshine. She lives in Hampshire, England with her husband, author Peter Dickinson, two hellhounds nicknamed Chaos…

Whole30 Adventures

    The Lake Oswego Public Library has purchased three books by Melissa Hartwig for our Kindle account:  It Starts With Food, The Whole30, and The Whole30 Cookbook. Melissa Hartwig is a Certified Sports Nutritionist who specializes in helping people change their relationship with food and create life-long, healthy habits. She is the co-creator of the original Whole30…

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

  A gripping vision of our society radically overturned by a theocratic revolution, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale has become one of the most powerful and most widely read novels of our time. Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead, serving in the household of the enigmatic Commander and his bitter wife. She…

Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian

Patrick O’Brian‘s acclaimed Aubrey/Maturin series of historical novels has been described as “a masterpiece” (David Mamet, New York Times), “addictively readable” (Patrick T. Reardon, Chicago Tribune), and “the best historical novels ever written” (Richard Snow, New York Times Book Review), which “should have been on those lists of the greatest novels of the 20th century”…

The Murder of Peter Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

    This is the story that made Agatha Christie famous, and which was also one of her own favorites. It begins when the wealthy Mrs. Farrars is found dead of an apparent overdose, one year after the death of her husband. The villagers of King’s Abbot are suspicious, for local rumor has it that…

Aftermath by Peter Robinson

  “A proven master of the British police procedural, Robinson should find a large market for this gripping, psychologically astute tale.” Publishers Weekly starred review Read Peter Robinson’s comments of the background of Aftermath Summary One early morning in May, Banks is called to a steep, overgrown street in Leeds, where two police officers answering…

Kind of Kin by Rilla Askew

When a church-going, community-loved, family man is caught hiding a barn-full of illegal immigrant workers, he is arrested and sent to prison. This shocking development sends ripples through the town — dividing neighbors, causing riffs amongst his family, and spurring controversy across the state. Inspired by new laws in Oklahoma and Alabama, Kind of Kin is…

The Crossroads of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion

    Who hasn’t asked the question “How can I find and follow my true calling?” Elle Luna frames this moment as “standing at the crossroads of Should and Must.” “Should” is what we feel we ought to be doing, or what is expected of us. “Must” is the thing we dream of doing, our…

Mr. Churchill’s Secretary: a Maggie Hope Mystery

    For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it. London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by…

Tax Reform! A Fine Mess!

  The U.S. tax code is a total write-off. Crammed with loopholes and special interest provisions, it works for no one except tax lawyers, accountants, and huge corporations. Not for the first time, we have reached a breaking point. That happened in 1922, and again in 1954, and again in 1986. In other words, every…

Anne Lamott

      Anne Lamott writes and speaks about subjects that begin with capital letters: Alcoholism, Motherhood, Jesus.  But armed with self-effacing humor – she is laugh-out-loud funny – and ruthless honesty, Lamott converts her subjects into enchantment.  Actually, she writes about what most of us don’t like to think about.  She wrote her first…